25
Aug
11

friendship at work

Friendship at work is a myth. You will find no real friends at work, sure there are exceptions, there always are…but most likely is that those “friends” are not really your friends. Sure you might find some people at your work enjoyable, you may lunch with them and even go out friday nights from time to time and then joke about it on monday, but are they really your friends?

I for one can´t say I have any friends, I can´t talk for them, I don´t know if they see me as a friend, but I certainly don´t see any of them as friends, just coworkers and maybe one or two comrades…the special kind of coworkers that held a relationship like the mentioned above.

Now why do I think they are not my friends and I am not their friend? I am sure that if I get married I won´t ask them to be my best man nor I will invite them even to the ceremony, they will, if anything, get a card letting them know I am getting hitched. If they get sick I won´t go to the hospital to visit, nor go the funeral of any of their family members…sure I will feel bad and send them a card or a present but I will not be there for them…let the real friends do that.

The fact is that once I stop working in this company, after a few short weeks or maybe even days, I will be forgotten, no more calls, no more emails…just accuantance in facebooks that get a “how are you doing” from time to time and false promises of “we have to hang out together some time”. Reality is that even when the company tries to make everyone closer with party and reunion, we will never be real friends. The fact that I am “friends” with the boss does not shield me from getting fired if the company find it fit to do so.

So yeah I find it boring, dumb and pointless, the damn forced on relationships in the company. In my department, my boss has the “tradition” to gather the whole department in our free time when someone birthday is up, to get together, eat and/or drink and hang out to honor that eprson birthday…I do it because if I don´t I will get tagged as a Grinch and relationship might get aquard, but if people in general wouldn´t be such pitiful and judgemental biengs, why would I attend? Is not that I don´t like them (well maybe a couple of asses are not of my devotion), is just that I would rather get home and read some cool novel, watch a new episode of American Dad or even sleep. Why use my time to try and create some kind of “strong” relationship that is in the end frail, no matter what they try to do. I know that when I get fired or I quit, everyone and everything regarding this company will remain as a memory, in the past, and no further contact will be made. Besides, I find birthday celebration trivial and dumb…why celebrate a date that means no achievement? If it was up to me I would prefer to have my day uncelebrated and in return not get invited to boring reunion where a person stands in front of a cake while a group of people sing their birthday song and congratulate them and wish them a long life…more years of eating shit, yeah…thats what I need.

Bottom line is that real friends are the ones made at young age, with guys at school, university or the ones from your block and or vecinity…those are the ones that stick, like a bad smell in your shoe after you stepped on a turd, that no matter where they live, you will still keep in real touch…or at least I will try to make it so, getting disappointed some times when I try to contact them and have an empty response, but that is another post.

9 Responses to “friendship at work”


  1. August 25, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I think any kind of work social activity outside work hours sucks. You aren’t being paid for your time but you are still technically having to be in work mode. It’s good in Aus cos there are so many working mums that people really can’t make it to after hours events except maybe the annual Christmas party.

    • 2 creepo
      August 26, 2011 at 7:50 am

      Yeah it kind of sucks…and I hate bosses that treat their workers as “friends” in order to win their trsut and camadery, but when screaming and going nuts time comes, everything is forgotten and you are still treated as shit. Two faced assholes

  2. August 27, 2011 at 8:02 am

    I am a difficult perfectionist at work and no one can ever do good enough so I don’t like them and they don’t like me. Running my own gig really helps cut down on the superficial 2 faced full of shit relationships.
    Life has never been as simple as now.

    Try calling a “friend at 4am to get bailed out of jail and then see who helps you out.

    • 4 creepo
      August 29, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      Exactly…only true friends will heed the true calling. If you feel like shit you will only call a true friend if you need someone to hear you out…the rest are just people you know

  3. August 27, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I agree absolutely with you that those birthday parties at workplace don’t help to bring people closer to being real friends, just a superficial gathering, that’s why I stopped going to department gatherings later.

    Thanks for dropping by my comic blog 😀

    • 6 creepo
      August 29, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      Hey! Thanks for dropping by! I would really like not to attend to all those fake gathering, but in the working life they expect you to go and will make things unconfortable if you don´t go and they will tag you as a mean troll.

  4. 7 aaa
    August 27, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Hey! I did not go to school with you neither university, I also do not live nearby to your home, so…am I your friend?…jajaja

    • 8 creepo
      August 29, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      Well depends on who you are…but if you are one of my true friends…you know you are. If you feel that you can trust me with things and I in return have trusted you with things…if we keep in touch despite the distace and if if we haven´t seen each other for a long time and when the day comes to face each other again, seems like nothing have changed…then yeah dude, you are my friend!

  5. November 23, 2012 at 7:59 am

    Wonderful article! That is the kind of info that are supposed to be shared across the net.

    Shame on the seek engines for no longer positioning this put up
    upper! Come on over and talk over with my web site . Thanks =)


Why not comment?

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blogs we all should read


