20
Jul
11

National pride

I have always felt the same way about national pride as much as for religion pride AND my birth day…why say happy birthday to someone? Because they were born? Sure you beat the shit out of half a billion other damn sperm goons, but that sperm was not YOU, it was going to be  part of you and YOU didn’t control it, so YOU didn’t achieved shit. Why should you celebrate a day that you didn’t even chose! Some people were born in the day the doctor though it would be better, so they cut your mother’s belly open and took you out by force…why celebrate that? Or is it because you feel special to be brought into a world you never asked to be brought into in the first place?

This and the patriotic shenanigans are the same. If you are a Jap or an American or whatever, is because of a coincidence, fate if you will. Shit you should be proud of  things YOU earn by your own wits, will power, strength, etc. People go change their nationality on their on willing conscious decision…Now THAT is more patriotic that being born in certain country, they shoved their designated country aside and CHOSE a new country to be part of, to defend, to help build…that is patriotic. Now any moron that just for the fact that he was born is X part says “I am proud to be an X” thats bullshit…

What about religion pride? I was raised a catholic because of the region I was born in. I am sure if I was born in Japan and had japanese parents I would have grown up to be a Shintoist, but no, this was the religion I was given, without a choice, being forced to attend to bible class every Sunday and go to church, read the bible and all the things a Catholic do. I continued to be a catholic until I decided what I really believed in…and THAT is an achievement and I feel proud of it. I think and choose by myself, that is outstanding in a  world where the majority just follow the current, do what they are told to do and think what they are suppose to think.

I am proud to be a Human being with well used intelligence that is law abiding, that cares for other GOOD fellow human beings and that continuous to live on and do the better out of this life without harming or trespassing other people life and dreams.

So yeah final though…be proud of who you are, what you have achieved by your own means, not about shit that happened by chance.

6 Responses to “National pride”


  1. July 20, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    The word “Pride” itself is terribly over and missused in Japan. People need to be proud of the things they have done. I love my country (America) but it does not define me.

    • 2 creepo
      July 22, 2011 at 9:55 am

      Well said. We are not defined by either our country or origin, nor our religion and even less our birthday. SO all of you who believe in Zodiac signs and why you and your personality is ruled by “when you were born” is a false and dukb as thinking blood type does that.

      I am happy when my country achieves things, but happiness is different to pride.

  2. July 20, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Interesting. I’ve been reading about the Japanese women’s soccer team who won the world cup which is the subject of so much national pride atm. Apparently when they left for the cup, there wasn’t even a reporter at the airport. It’s women’s soccer, who gives a shit. After winning, they are heroes that embody the japanese spirit.

    • 4 creepo
      July 22, 2011 at 9:57 am

      It is a shame…poor girls 😛
      But that si the same old story, no one gives a damn of certain people until they achieve something. And like I posted in Chris comment, we all can feel happy for them but never proud. The only ones that rightfully can be proud of that win are the 11 girls (well the whole team) that won that cup.

  3. July 21, 2011 at 10:44 am

    You’re right. I consider myself British, even though my parents and brother are Irish. I was born in England, but had the choice of nationality because of being the child of immigrants. Pride is a fault when it goes too far. But you’ll never stop me celebrating my birthday! A day of cake and being the centre of attention? There’s no way I’m giving that up!

    • 6 creepo
      July 22, 2011 at 9:59 am

      Yeah I guess I am a birthday grinch. I don´t like cakes and hate presents for something I didn´t really earn. I don´t dislike the attention, but the rest I feel is fake. So don´t mind my grinchness sarahf…be merry and happy as you should be in your birthday ,)


Why not comment?

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blogs we all should read


