21
Nov
09

A bit of history and modern pirates

It has been an odd day, not many interesting news to really comment. I found one that is worth mentioning for the bad nightmare a couple of British are going through, but I also wanted to talk a little about history.

First out kidnapped couple. The Caribbean and the pirates seemed like part of adventurous stories with old famous Captains of pirate vessels such a Francis Drake, Calico Jack (Or Jack Rackham) and Blackbeard just to mention a few, were long gone and were part of myths along with their numerous spoils and its whereabouts, but in Africa, specially along the shores of the Indian ocean , it is clearly proven that pirates are still a real tale. The most renown modern pirates are  born and “trained” in Somalia, roaming the sea and making all other sailors question themselves if their ship will be next. The attacks are done specially around the gulf of Aqaba where many oil tankers and cargo ships have to proceed. This time the victims were a seemingly rich english couple (Paul and Rachel Chandler) that sailed from the shores of Seychelles islands for Tanzania on any given day of October and were kidnapped by Somali pirates. The pirates have asked for a ransom to the UK government of 7 million and well, that is how it goes.

One month has passed and they are getting itchy trigger syndrome. Now this piracy is no current news, they have been riding the ocean like the old days corsairs for more than 10 years now, the Indian ocean its dangerous and only either people with big cojones (That have to travel within their reach because of work) or plain innocence (or stupidity?) like the case of this couple that dare to sail in water as dangerous as if it was infested with flying sharks. And the government of course its refusing to pay ransom, after all if they do pay they will show weakness and kidnappings of enlgish citizens will rise sky-high because after all “they are soft and they pay”. It will not surprise me if instead they are preparing to raid those Somali asses with SAS troops and make a rescue of the hostages, Hollywood style.

Now for the history part. I want to remember the battle of a german ship on December of 1945, the Scharnhorst a capital ship that sailed within the Arctic sea to try and stop convoys of the english going to the Soviet Union and thanks to poor orders and  executions of the same, it lead the Scharnhorst to end up all alone like a goat in forest packed with wolves at night. It got attacked firstly up front by H.M.S. Belfast, H.M.S. Norfolk and H.M.S. Sheffield receiving extensive damage and even loosing their radar, now we have the same goat in the same dark forest but now blind as a bat. They continue to give battle against the 3 already mentioned ships when some other ships (Opportune, Virago, Musketeer, Matchless, Jamaica and the infamous Duke of York) joined the party and fired more than 2000 shells against the Scharnhorst that kept on fighting after loosing functionality of 2 of their 3 turrets, lost half of the crew, maintain fire along most of the deck, no radar, and lord know what else. Finally they sunk it (no surprise there) not before they severely damaged couple of ships of the royal fleet. The Captain Fritz Hintze in charge of the Scharnhorst died after he gave his life jacket to a cadet and well, drowned. Only 36 sailors from the vessel were rescued out of 1968.

This battle that the Scharnhorst gave until their last breath was so exemplary that Admiral Fraser from the Duke of York after the ship was sunken, gathered his crew and said, and I quote “Gentlemen, the battle against Scharnhorst has ended in victory for us. I hope that if any of you are ever called upon to lead a ship into action against an opponent many times superior, you will command your ship as gallantly as Scharnhorst was commanded today”.

packed with
57 Responses to “A bit of history and modern pirates”


  1. January 11, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Highly descriptive post, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

  2. January 11, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    USB to Ethernet adaptors

  3. January 12, 2012 at 6:44 am

    The internet site is quite interesting, you made some compelling remarks additionally, the matter is on point. I made the decision to add in your blog site to my bookmarks so i could come back to it later on.

  4. January 12, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Doing so is frequently a excellent web site site which assists me to get further information to the topic. I am bookmark it!

  5. January 12, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    Please, can you PM me and inform me few more considers this, I will be really fan of one’s blogпїЅпїЅgets solved properly asap.

  6. January 13, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  7. January 13, 2012 at 2:48 am

    IпїЅпїЅve really enjoyed reading your posts. You obviously decide what you may be preaching about! Your websites are easy to navigate too, IпїЅпїЅve bookmarked it inside my favourites. . . . .

  8. January 13, 2012 at 6:50 am

    IпїЅпїЅve been surfing for some the specifics of it almost a couple. You helped me very much indeed and looking over this short article

  9. January 13, 2012 at 7:41 am

    The truly amazing post assited me greatly! Saved to the site, very great categories everywhere i always read here! I recommend the material, thanks.

  10. January 13, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I had done extensive research in this particular subject, and agree completely with all the way this is written. I only wish We the eloquence that can put it into quality writing.

  11. January 13, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    As a Newbie, I am continuously browsing online for articles that can be of assistance to me. Thank you

  12. January 13, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    What’s up, how’s it going? Just shared this post with a colleague, we had a good laugh.

  13. January 14, 2012 at 12:18 am

    Great articles and nice a website design too пїЅпїЅ

  14. January 14, 2012 at 1:29 am

    very good put up, i definitely love this web site, carry on it

  15. January 14, 2012 at 2:04 am

    It’s my job to visit new blog everyday plus i found your site

  16. January 14, 2012 at 5:16 am

    There are many interesting cut-off dates in the following paragraphs however don‘t determine I see these center to heart. There exists some validity but I will need hold opinion until I consider it further. Piece of content , thanks and we want more! Combined with FeedBurner at the same time

  17. January 14, 2012 at 6:10 am

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

  18. January 14, 2012 at 6:21 am

    I do know its challenging to make sure that each paragraph has interesting content, however, you did it.

  19. January 14, 2012 at 7:02 am

    I enjoy your way of writing, great information, regards for posting : D.

  20. January 14, 2012 at 9:26 am

    I was very pleased to find this internet-site.I needed to thanks to your time for this wonderful read!! I undoubtedly enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you weblog post.

  21. January 14, 2012 at 11:51 am

    The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

  22. January 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    There are some interesting cut-off dates on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  23. January 15, 2012 at 1:50 am

    Hello, I really liked this information, I hope you continue updating, Greetings

  24. January 15, 2012 at 2:47 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  25. January 15, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Zune and iPod: Most people compare the Zune to the Touch, but after seeing how slim and surprisingly small and light it is, I consider it to be a rather unique hybrid that combines qualities of both the Touch and the Nano. It’s very colorful and lovely OLED screen is slightly smaller than the touch screen, but the player itself feels quite a bit smaller and lighter. It weighs about 2/3 as much, and is noticeably smaller in width and height, while being just a hair thicker.

  26. January 16, 2012 at 6:24 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this increase.

  27. January 16, 2012 at 7:08 am

    cultivate monetary management operate on the location. Do similar to it! :p Could maybe use some more updates sometimes, nevertheless i believe that you’ve got got more or better fun-filled activities like people do.

  28. January 16, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Please message me with any hints & guidance on how well you made this blog page look this good , I’d enjoy it!

  29. January 16, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Many people will likely be took advantage of your writing. Cheers!

  30. January 16, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    I not to mention my friends appeared to be taking note of the good hints found on your web site and then quickly I had a horrible suspicion I never thanked the web blog owner for those strategies. The boys were definitely so glad to study all of them and already have unquestionably been tapping into those things. Appreciate your truly being simply accommodating and then for picking such ideal issues millions of individuals are really eager to understand about. Our sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to you earlier.

  31. January 17, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Harry Potter is the perfect, i adore Daniel Radcliffe because he acts exceptionally well,

  32. January 17, 2012 at 7:25 am

    We were also reading an interest such as this one from another site

  33. January 17, 2012 at 8:27 am

    Hello admin, thank you for delivering this enlightening article I uncovered it impressive. Sincerely,

  34. January 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  35. January 17, 2012 at 10:20 am

    A powerful share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little bit evaluation on this. And he in actual fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If potential, as you turn into experience, would you thoughts updating your blog with extra particulars? It is highly helpful for me. Huge thumb up for this blog put up!

  36. January 17, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    If you need help computer security, enters pcsecurity

  37. January 18, 2012 at 5:20 am

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  38. January 18, 2012 at 5:46 am

    You guide me by sharing this toolbox i face problem whenever profit this software after looking at this web site i will easily use.

  39. January 18, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was once entirely right. This publish actually made my day. You cann’t believe simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  40. January 18, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Should the american dollar crashes (that i am convinced of) then gold is definitely the finest spot for their make your money.

  41. January 18, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Great daytime, may be here is towards situation merely well, i%u2019ve become executing study concerning your webpage which%u2019s why it is rather obviously pro. I include been working with a fresh unique writings with one another with attempting return glance good, whenever as well as feel a remedy i%u2019ve damage it. Recommendations about how burdensome was considered the to actually site? Properly any man much for instance me lacking an occurence arrive, at the top that complete folks boost web should possess associated with chewing entirely up receiving that will done plus?

  42. January 19, 2012 at 7:19 am

    your website is in fact very special.

  43. January 19, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Yuor web blog never ceases to amaze me, it is well crafted and arranged.,*”;`

  44. January 19, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    My husband and i ended up being absolutely thrilled when Michael could round up his analysis via the precious recommendations he obtained using your blog. It is now and again perplexing to just be giving away things others could have been trying to sell. And now we acknowledge we’ve got the blog owner to thank for this. The specific illustrations you made, the simple blog navigation, the friendships you can make it easier to engender – it is all spectacular, and it is aiding our son and our family imagine that that article is pleasurable, which is extraordinarily important. Thank you for everything!

  45. January 20, 2012 at 1:33 am

    You possess made a really great web site. The texts is really excellent content. It will be definetely greatly with a widget enjoy Facebook prefer buttom. I have built-in it on my blog and it draws in attention. The much more feedback the more motivated you will become in planning your next piece.

  46. January 20, 2012 at 10:07 am

    This really answered my drawback, thank you!

  47. January 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thanks!

  48. January 21, 2012 at 4:10 am

    An interesting dialogue is price comment. I believe that you must write extra on this matter, it might not be a taboo subject however generally persons are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  49. January 21, 2012 at 5:46 am

    Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the identical comment. Is there any approach you possibly can take away me from that service? Thanks!

  50. January 21, 2012 at 8:52 am

    I ran into it web page on accident, astonishingly, it is a remarkable website. The site who was the owner has accomplished a stellar job creating/collecting articles to publish, the data here is really and valuable once i do research. Now i am going to bookmark this internet site so that I can go back to in the future.

  51. January 21, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  52. January 22, 2012 at 11:57 am

    If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  53. January 22, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Excellent site. Plenty of helpful information here. I¡¦m sending it to a few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you in your sweat!

  54. January 23, 2012 at 1:13 am

    Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard versus hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing every little thing I’ve worked hard on. Any tips?

  55. January 26, 2012 at 5:53 am

    I can just say such a relief to find somebody who actually knows what theyre talking about on the web. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people must look at this and understand why side with the story. I cant believe you aren’t very popular when you definitely possess the gift.

  56. February 9, 2012 at 8:08 am

    I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers


Why not comment?

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blogs we all should read


